50 Book Reading Challenge

Way back in February I was browsing through YouTube as I always do and I landed on a Tanya Burr video. In this video she was discussing Goodreads, a new site she had discovered, and how she had signed up for this reading challenge. Now last year was my first year of my life not being a student and thus having homework or assigned readings. I thought to myself that I could do it. So I pledged to read 50 books by the end of the year.

Yesterday, I hit the 50 mark with “After You” by Jojo Moyes. This has been so much fun and it obviously won’t end here, but in celebration of completing the challenge I want to give the best suggestions to you! Here are (in no particular order) the books I would recommend.

1. The Book Thief
A great novel written in Death’s perspective (I swear not as cliche as it sounds, it really adds to the narrative) about a young girl’s experience during WWII in Germany.

download (4).jpg

2. The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo
Amy Schumer’s debut humour novel was so funny! This was my first exposure to her, and I was impressed. She was able to tackle heavy subjects such as consent and gun control, while still being hilarious.

51j10qkqfsL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

3. Outlander (Books 7 & 8)
I’ve gotten a lot of people hooked on this series (I may still be missing the first 4 books). I finally caught up to the series, but I am now sad to have to wait another FOUR years for another. Not too give too much away, but I felt as though Book 7 moved slowly as they entered a character that I wasn’t too fond of and his bits are dry. Carry on and you won’t be disappointed.

Written-In-My-Own-Hearts-Blood-Cover.jpg41el1R0NQPL._SY346_.jpg

4. Big Magic
To be quite honest, I wasn’t even going to read this book. It’s a book on creativity and I thought “What do I need to know about being creative? I’m a former psych major.” But it was so much more than that. It gave me direction and inspiration to draw from. A great read for anyone in any place.

download (5)

5. Yours Truly
A funny chick lit book about a girl who was hypnotized to only tell the truth. Obviously, hilarity ensues. It’s a British novel and I am always a fan of their humour.

15717655.jpg

6. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened
I ended up reading Jenny Lawson’s books out of order and read Furiously Happy at the end of 2015. I probably looked insane reading it in public because I would literally laugh out loud. Her first book, had me crying of laughter at some of the stories. This books deals less with mental illness than her second one, so less inspirational, more just funny.

letpretendthisneverhappened11.jpg

7. Brain on Fire
Being a former psych major and working at a hospital for the last year, this had to make my list. Even if she gives away testing secrets! It was an interesting read about her month of delirium and what resulted from it.

download (6).jpg

That’s all folks! I’ll be back with a Part 2: Books You Shouldn’t Read from my 50 this year. It’ll save you time for better books I promise

Leave a Reply

