50 Book Reading Challenge: Part 2

Hello! I am back with a Part 2 to my Goodreads Reading Challenge: the misses. These are the books I suggest you skip (or read yourself to find out that I’m right in my opinion – kidding). Here are the ones you should forgo to read something a little better:

1. It’s not me, it’s you
If I’m being honest, I don’t even really remember what this is about. I can enjoy a good chick lit novel as well as the next person. This was not a good one. I wasn’t really into the main character and the plot was okay…

61dmXn2-BXL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

 

2. Modern Romance
This book was so hyped and I was so excited to read it! I love non fiction and I love talking about love and really wanted to hear about the modern romance scene (I’ve been out of the game for awhile). But I was let down! For any psychology major, or anyone who’s taken intro, these studies are old news. The funny parts weren’t even that funny. I suggest “Decoding Love” by Andrew Trees over this.

23453112.jpg

3. The Illegal
I was also so excited for this one. I read his first book, The Book of Negroes, and he also came to my high school to speak. I loved his first novel and thought this one would be just as good. Sadly, it was not. He created a fictional place that seemed to be more of a joke and really cheesy. Did not read as a serious novel to me. Could have been so much better. Let down.

y450-293.png

4. Go Set a Watchman
Again another novel I was super excited about! It had been so long since To Kill a Mockingbird and everyone knows what a classic that was, so I really wanted to get my hands on her newly anticipated second book. BUT, it just tears down the first novel. It makes you question what you thought you knew about the characters. Stick with this first book and don’t even open this one.

US_cover_of_Go_Set_a_Watchman

 

5. Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates
Truth be told I only bought this book because the trailer looked funny and because there was a sale for 2 books for $15. I regret buying this book. The brothers are just stupid with their antics and their stories about hooking up are awful. It’s not even funny. It’s cringe-worthy and you’ll hate yourself for even reading the words.

21412505

6. I Followed the Rules
Yet another chick lit book. It was OKAY, but not great. The main character wasn’t memorable, but she was cute and quirky. Good for a quick read, but you can find better chick lit out there. I promise.

51y53wazz7l-_sx325_bo1204203200_.jpg

 

Please comment if you’ve read them or disagree with my list! Or comment ones that I should avoid. Til the next novel..

Leave a Reply

