International Women’s Day

“Strong Women. May we know, may we raise them, may we be them.”

It’s a quote I’ve seen all over today and that has really struck me today. I lost my grandma on Saturday. She was one of the strongest women I’ve known. My mom, also, is a single parent, and has been raising my sister and I alone since I was 7. I don’t even really remember a time my dad was in my life. I’ve been raised by strong women who have had the support of my grandpa. Someone who saw the power in women. Even my other grandpa, never treated me as anything less. Never thought I should stay home and wait hand and foot on a man (though valid choice if it’s yours). This is even though this is how his life was. My grandma has done everything for him, and now that she can’t he’s having a hard time even microwaving. But he’s always given sound advice on career and housing markets and talked politics with me as though he was talking to his equal (you just need to cut him off).

I am so grateful to all the wonderful people in my life who have raised me to be a strong woman. Who have believed in me though I might have not believed in myself. It was seeing their influence, their ability to rise above when everything seemed lost or impossible, gave me the courage to pursue my dreams.

I grew up without a dad, so it was only my sister, my mom and I. I learned to live a life without men. I never said I needed a man, and I am very independent. My mom’s situation has taught me that. I don’t want only one bank account and I want a job to support myself and my needs. You cant always count on people.

However, in the tune of Sophie Gregoire-Trudeau, who gave thanks to her husband, I want to give thanks to my boyfriend as well. He’s taught me that I can still be an independent woman, and be committed. I can still be with someone and have my life. But I’m still keeping my own bank account.

So here’s to the strong women around the globe today.  We already know them, we have been raised by them, and we are them.

Leave a Reply

