A Post for my Grandparents

I love my grandparents. I am close to both sets who I’ve seen a lot and have been lucky enough to have for most of my life. I lost my grandpa a few years ago to a brain tumor. He was basically my second father because mine was never around. I used to spend summer vacations with him and my grandma, even March Break. My mom had to work to support my sister and I, so they were always there for us. I’m so grateful for all their love and support over the years.

img_1001

This is the tattoo I got in memory of my grandpa. It means “ahava” in Hebrew, which is love. He didn’t get a chance to give me the earrings that this tattoo is based on.

Now, my remaining 3 grandparents are declining. My dad’s parents go to Florida every year for the winter, but this year they were so sick they had to come back early. My mom’s mom is now in the hospital on a ventilator.

I never saw my grandpa when he was in the hospital, and to this day I kind of regret it. I’m trying to visit my grandma in the ICU as much as I can. It makes my heart melt to see her smile when I say “Hi Grandma”.

All my grandparents are 87, so the doctors keep saying they’ve lived a long life. And yes, they’ve all had good, long lives and I am so happy I got so many years with them. But I can’t seem to let them go.

This post is for my wonderful grandparents, who are always so loving, caring and respectful of what I want to do in life. They have been my mentors, my carers, my whole world. When people had friends, I had my grandparents.

img_0170

Both sets of grandparents on my birthday

I wrote this but didn’t post it before my grandma passed away. She passed surrounded by her family on March 4th, 2017. I will miss her so much. I can’t believe I’ll never see her, or hear her voice again. But I know she’s with my grandpa, where she wants to be. I will miss her presence, her support, and all the amazing qualities I hope I will embody.

Leave a Reply

